Skip to the content.

UMass Boston

The symposium on Trends in Functional Programming (TFP) is an international forum for researchers with interests in all aspects of functional programming, taking a broad view of current and future trends in the area. It aspires to be a lively environment for presenting the latest research results, and other contributions. See the call for papers for more details.

This year, the event is taking place in-person at UMass Boston. It will be a 4-day event, with TFPIE taking place Thurs Jan 12, followed by TFP on Fri Jan 13 - Sun Jan 15.

TFP offers a friendly and constructive reviewing process designed to help less experienced authors succeed, with an opportunity for two rounds of review, both before and after the symposium itself. Authors thus have an opportunity to address reviewers’ concerns before the final decision on publication in the Proceedings is taken, in the light of previous reviews and discussions at the symposium.

TFP offers two “best paper” awards, the John McCarthy award for best paper, and the David Turner award for best student paper.


Register in advance using the following link:


Reach: A Language for DApp Development
Jay McCarthy

Reach is a functionally-inspired programming language and platform for developing decentralized applications (DApps) that aspires to be the smartest, fastest, and safest way to build. In this talk, we explain DApp development and what Reach provides for it. We discuss a few interesting theoretical parts, as well as the practical aspects of deploying a new language in an active industry, acquiring thousands of users, and managing millions of dollars of assets. Reach is implemented with Haskell, Z3, TypeScript, and glorious shell scripts.

Jay McCarthy is the technical side of the pair that founded Reach. Previously, he has been a professor of Computer Science at UMass Lowell and Brigham Young University. He is also part of the Racket Project Leadership Committee.

Important Dates

Submission deadline: pre-symposium, full papers Wednesday 23rd November, 2022
Submission deadline: pre-symposium, draft papers Friday 16th December, 2022
Notification: pre-symposium submissions Friday 23rd December, 2022
Registration Friday 6th January, 2023
TFPIE Workshop Thursday 12th January, 2023
TFP Symposium Friday 13th - Sunday 15th January, 2023
Submission deadline: post-symposium review Friday 17th February, 2023
Notification: post-symposium submissions Friday 31st March, 2023

Program Committee

Peter Achten Radboud University Nijmegen, Netherlands
Nada Amin Harvard University, USA
Ambrose Bonnaire-Sergeant Untypable LLC, USA
Laura M. Castro University of A Coruña, Spain
Stephen Chang (Chair) University of Massachusetts Boston, USA
John Clements Cal Poly, USA
Youyou Cong Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Paul Downen University of Massachusetts Lowell, USA
Kathy Gray Meta Platforms, Inc., UK
Ben Greenman University of Utah, USA
Jason Hemann Seton Hall University, USA
Patricia Johann Appalachian State University, USA
Alexis King Tweag, USA
Julia Lawall Inria-Paris, France
Daniel Patterson Northeastern University, USA
Barak Pearlmutter Maynooth University, Ireland
Norman Ramsey Tufts University, USA
Ilya Sergey National University of Singapore, Singapore
Melinda Tóth Eötvös Loránd University, Hungary
Ningning Xie University of Toronto, Canada

Call for Papers

The call for papers is here.

Past TFP conferences: [2022] [2021] [2020] [Others]